Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Latest Posts

Trish Stratus Receives Lou Thesz Award

Trish Stratus is the first woman to win the Lou Thesz Award on July 23 at the Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, IA. The Lou Thesz award honors wrestlers who serve the public. Although Trish is not an “official” member of the NPWHF, she will still be known there.

The George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame has seldom honored women wrestlers over the years. Beth Phoenix was the first woman to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2019. Beth won the 2015 Frank Gotch award for promoting wrestling outside of the sport.

Trish Stratus’ Lou Thesz Award is a big thing because it may lead to her induction into the National Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame and to other women being honored by the Hall of Fame and museum. Booker T, Edge, and Larry “The Axe” Hennig are past Lou Thesz award winners.

Trish visited the Dan Gable Museum before her induction. Status smiled in social media photos before the induction and meet-and-greet. She invited fans to pick her outfit. Trish thanked the museum by saying, “I’d rather destroy glass ceilings than wear glass shoes.”

Stratus is one of wrestling’s finest women. In 2000, she was a valet and manager without wrestling experience. She worked hard to become the finest wrestler. She trained with Fit Finlay before, after, and on days off. Trish proved she was the best by playing some of the best women’s matches in years.

Even after her retirement, she inspired many women to become professional wrestlers. She continues to compete with elite wrestlers. She and Lita beat Mickie James and Alicia Fox at Evolution. Mickie James and Alexa Bliss were their Raw opponents. 2019 SummerSlam saw her face Charlotte Flair. She’s taunted Becky Lynch and Sasha Banks since losing to Charlotte Flair.

Trish Stratus has won several wrestling honors. She’s a seven-time WWE Women’s Champion, a one-time WWE Hardcore Champion, a 2013 WWE Hall of Famer, and WWE’s #1 Greatest Female Wrestler of All Time. Outside of WWE, she was named Baltimore Sun’s Female Wrestler of the Decade and won the Iron Mike Mazurki Award in 2016. She also earned the Sandy Hawley Community Service Award in 2017. In 2002, 2003, 2005, and 2006, Pro Wrestling Illustrated named her Woman of the Year.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.